I am a...

  • Political and current affair commentator in Luxembourg, who publishes academic and journalistic articles on business, law, monument protection/building culture and Luxembourg politics.
  • Freelancer at the “Frankfurter Allgemeine” newspaper (F.A.Z.). My articles can also be found in the following Luxembourg-based newspapers and magazines: “Luxemburger Wort” (daily), “d’Lëtzebuerger Land” (weekly) and “forum – Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur in Luxemburg” (monthly).
  • Author of student textbooks for the study of law in Germany, all of which have been regularly republished. In addition, I also write legal content for other forms of publication, for example, apps and social networks.
  • Co-author, with Joao Nuno Soares Pereira (Attorney-at-Law), of an introductory textbook on Luxembourg law titled “Einführung in das luxemburgische Recht” (part of the JuS series of foreign law textbooks published by the C. H. Beck Publishing House).
  • Author of books on Jean-Claude Juncker, crime prevention and property rights. My academic publications can be found in the following German-language journals: NJW, JuS, JURA, VRÜ, HFR, myops and ZdF.
  • Stay-at-home dad and homeworker, who is very happy to have married a Luxembourgian architect and taken a couple of years of parental leave.

I am committed to ...

  • Monument protection and building culture. As the Vice-President of “Sauvegarde du Patrimoine asbl”, a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of historical buildings and monuments, I was invited by the Minister of Culture of Luxembourg to join a work group tasked with drafting a new monument protection law. I have been the responsible editor on three almanacs on monument conservation: “Monumentum - Respektvolle Erneuerung historischer Bausubstanz in Luxemburg und der Großregion”. I also worked with Dr. Christina Mayer on a presentation of monument protection law in Europe and the countries of the European Union in the standard reference, “Handbuch Denkmalschutz und Denkmalpflege” (C. H. Beck Publishing House, Munich, 4th Edition). Other publications can be found, for example, in the “Revue Technique Luxembourgeoise éditée par l'Association Luxembourgeoise des Ingénieurs, Architectes et Industriels”. I was the founder of the “Leerstandsmelder” (Vacancy Reporter) in Luxembourg and am an activist for the creation of living space, particularly through building redevelopment and refurbishment.
  • Transparency in the judicial system, particularly with regard to a publication requirement for court decisions. As a journalist of the F.A.Z., I had an intense exchange with the District Court of Munich and the Munich Public Prosecution Office on the publication of the judgment in the Hoeneß case. I published an essay on the subject titled “Der Anspruch auf Übermittlung von Abschriften strafgerichtlicher Entscheidungen” together with Prof. Holm Putzke in the weekly legal magazine, Neue Juristische Wochenschrift (NJW). The German Federal Constitutional Court has since established the requirement of transparency in a fundamental decision and referenced the essay in so doing.
  • Strengthening the democratic constitutional state and the reconciliation of past totalitarian regimes. I am therefore member of an organization that helps victims of the East German dictatorship. I have published various articles on jurisdiction and jurisprudence under the East German regime. It is my aim to inspire students for democracy, as a lecturer (for example at the Kehl University of Applied Sciences or the organizer of a first-time voter conference in Berlin); co-author of the Duden school publication on “Politics and Society” by the Bibliographical Institute & F. A. Brockhaus AG Mannheim (5th Edition) or; former seminar leader of the START foundation supporting highly talented pupils with a migrant background and member of the student parliament of the Humboldt University of Berlin. I have been called to join the selection committee of the Konrad Adenauer foundation tasked with granting study scholarships. For many years I have been part of a citizens’ initiative that would like to have 18 March declared a national public holiday to commemorate the March Revolution of 1848.

I was in the ...

  • Private sector for six years at the media and IT group, Haufe-Lexware in Freiburg; first as head of the Business Development division, and then, as head of Communications for the entire Group, authorized company officer and member of the management. I was responsible for employees and revenue amounting to 10 million euros. At the same time I was also an Executive Board member of the ControllingWissen AG publishing company in Etterschlag near Munich. I qualified as a certified project manager in a career-integrated training programme with the highest attainable grade. My voluntary resignation resulted due to my move to Luxembourg.
  • Civil Service, as a speech writer of the State Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia in Düsseldorf. In this function, I was also a member of the Board of Trustees of the Federal Institute for Population Research of the German Federal Statistical Office. My voluntary resignation resulted due to my move to the media and IT group Haufe-Lexware in Freiburg.
  • Before that I attended university and qualified for the office of judge. I read law in Bonn, Bangkok, Sydney and Berlin and graduated from my legal studies with distinction (First State Examination), majoring in the Philosophy and Theory of Law. I completed by doctorate (Dr. iur.) with distinction in Potsdam and Melbourne. Part of my doctoral thesis was distinguished by the Hayek Society. I completed my two-year legal preparatory service in Berlin and Jakarta (German-Indonesian Chamber of Industry and Commerce), as well as studying at the German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer, where I graduated as top of the class (among 502 students with the grade: “excellent”).
  • Earlier I trained to be a journalist; before that was a soldier and even earlier the graduate of a Catholic grammar school. I was born in the summer of 1977 and I have been a Catholic ever since.

Contact




9, rue du Travail
L-2625 Luxembourg



Je parle

lu / de / en / fr

Je suis...

  • journaliste au Luxembourg et j’écris des articles scientifiques et de presse sur les thèmes de l’économie, du droit, de la protection des monuments/culture architecturale et la politique luxembourgeoise.
  • pigiste au quotidien allemand « Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung » (F.A.Z.). J’ai également écrit des articles dans le Luxemburger Wort, le d’Lëtzebuerger Land et le forum – Monatszeitschrift für Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur in Luxemburg.
  • auteur de manuels pour l’enseignement juridique en Allemagne qui sont régulièrement réédités. Je rédige de plus des contenus juridiques pour d’autres formes de publication telles que des applis et les réseaux sociaux.
  • co-auteur de l’essai « Einführung in das luxemburgische Recht » (Introduction au droit luxembourgeois dans les carnets JuS relatifs au droit étranger publiés aux éditions C.H. Beck) avec Joao Nuno Soares Pereira, avocat.
  • auteur d’ouvrages consacrés à Jean-Claude Juncker, à la prévention de la criminalité et aux droits de propriété. J’ai publié des articles scientifiques dans les revues germanophones NJW, JuS, JURA, VRÜ, HFR, myops et ZdF.
  • très heureux d’avoir décidé d’épouser une architecte luxembourgeoise et d’avoir pris un congé parental de plusieurs années.

Je m’engage pour ...

  • la protection des monuments et la culture architecturale. En tant que vice-président de l’association « Sauvegarde du Patrimoine asbl », j’ai été chargé par la ministre luxembourgeoise de la Culture d’élaborer avec un groupe de travail un nouveau projet de loi sur les monuments historiques. J’ai dirigé la rédaction de trois annales consacrées à la protection des monuments : « Monumentum – Respektvolle Erneuerung historischer Bausubstanz in Luxemburg und der Großregion » (Monumenum – renouvellement respectueux des constructions historiques au Luxembourg et dans la Grande Région). En collaboration avec le Dr Christina Mayer, j’ai pu expliquer la législation relative à la protection des monuments en Europe et dans les États de l’Union européenne dans l’ouvrage de référence « Handbuch Denkmalschutz und Denkmalpflege » (Manuel de la protection et la conservation des monuments, publié aux éditions C.H. Beck, Munich, 4ème édition). J’ai également publié des articles, notamment, dans la « Revue Technique Luxembourgeoise » publiée par l'Association Luxembourgeoise des Ingénieurs, Architectes et Industriels. J’ai fondé le « Leerstandmelder » au Luxembourg et je milite pour la création de logements, en particulier en rénovant les constructions déjà existantes.
  • la transparence dans le domaine judiciaire, en particulier en faveur de l’obligation de publication des décisions de justice. J’ai eu à ce sujet des échanges mouvementés avec le tribunal de grande instance et le parquet de Munich concernant la publication du jugement dans la procédure pénale contre Uli Hoeneß lorsque j’étais journaliste au F.A.Z. J’ai écrit en collaboration avec le Pr Holm Putzke l’essai « Der Anspruch auf Übermittlung von Abschriften strafgerichtlicher Entscheidungen » (Le droit à la transmission de copies de décisions de justice pénale) dans la revue Neue Juristische Wochenschrift (NJW). Le tribunal constitutionnel suprême a depuis instauré l’exigence de transparence par le biais d’une décision de principe en s’appuyant sur cet essai.
  • le renforcement de l’État de droit démocratique et la réflexion sur le passé totalitaire. C’est pourquoi je suis membre d’une organisation d’aide aux victimes de la dictature de l’ex-R.D.A. J’ai publié à diverses reprises des articles consacrés à la jurisprudence et la théorie juridique dans la dictature de l’ex-R.D.A. Mon objectif est d’intéresser les étudiants à la démocratie en tant que conférencier (par exemple, à l’université de Kehl ou comme directeur de conférence lors d’une conférence de premier électeurs à Berlin), de co-auteur du « Schülerduden Politik und Gesellschaft » (manuel scolaire Politique et société) du Bibliographisches Institut & F. A. Brockhaus AG Mannheim, 5ème édition, ou, dans le passé, d’animateur de séminaire de la fondation START-Stiftung pour le soutien d’élèves particulièrement talentueux issus de l’immigration, et de membre du Parlement des étudiants de l’université Humboldt de Berlin. Je suis nommé dans des comités de sélection chargés d’attribuer les bourses d’étude de la fondation Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Je soutiens depuis de nombreuses années une initiative citoyenne dont l’objectif est de déclarer le 18 mars « journée de commémoration de la Révolution de mars de 1848 ».

J’ai ...

  • travaillé pendant six ans dans des entreprises, dans la société de médias et d’informatique Haufe-Lexware à Fribourg, d’abord comme responsable du service Business Development, puis comme responsable Communication du groupe, fondé de pouvoir et membre de comité directeur. J’y ai dirigé des collaborateurs et était responsable d’un chiffre d’affaires de 10 millions d’euros. Parallèlement, j’étais directeur des éditions Verlag für ControllingWissen Aktiengesellschaft à Etterschlag, près de Munich. J’ai suivi une formation complémentaire pour devenir responsable de projet certifié pour laquelle j’ai obtenu la meilleure note. J’ai dû démissionner en raison de mon déménagement pour le Luxembourg.
  • été avant cela employé d’État, période durant laquelle j’ai concrètement rédigé les discours du ministre-président de la Rhénanie-du-Nord-Westphalie à Düsseldorf. Dans le cadre de cette fonction, j’étais membre du conseil d’administration de l’Institut fédéral de recherches démographiques à l’Office fédéral de la statistique. J’ai démissionné de ce poste pour commencer dans la société de média et informatique Haufe-Lexware à Fribourg.
  • suivi auparavant une formation d’assesseur juridique habilité à la magistrature. J’ai fait des études de droit avec comme spécialités la philosophie du droit et la théorie du droit (premier Examen d’État réussi avec mention) à Bonn, Bangkok, Sydney et Berlin. J’ai obtenu mon titre de Dr iur. (avec mention) à Potsdam et Melbourne. Une partie de mon doctorat a été récompensée par la Hayek-Gesellschaft. J’ai fait mon stage juridique préparatoire à Berlin et Jakarta (chambre de commerce germano-indonésienne), j’ai de plus fait des études à l’École supérieure allemande de sciences administratives de Speyer (mention finale « très bien », major de la promotion de 502 étudiants).
  • fait auparavant une formation de journaliste, précédée de mon service militaire et de mon baccalauréat dans un lycée catholique. Je suis né à l’été 1977, date à laquelle je suis devenu catholique.

Contact




9, rue du Travail
L-2625 Luxembourg



Je parle

lu / de / en / fr